Annual General Meeting and Election

Good afternoon fellow club members and sailors.

At the Club's AGM on Wednesday 26th September 2018 our outgoing Commodore, Ian Brownhill, reported a successful, albeit weather interrupted, sailing season which included the running of the 5th annual SCOR Regatta of the modern era. Upgrades to the clubrooms, which included the new kitchen, were noted as being appreciated by all.

The Treasurer, Sheryl Hinds, delivered a financial report confirming that the Sunshine Coast Yacht Club remains in a sound financial position.

Ian and the remainder of the outgoing committee were applauded for guiding the Sunshine Coast Yacht Club through yet another successful year providing us with an exceptionally solid platform for future years.

The members elected the new Management Committee for 2018/19 as follows:

Commodore                      Harry Blom

Vice Commodore              Greg Pullin

Rear Commodore             Heinz Seeberg

Secretary                          Michael Pomfret

Treasurer                          Mark Holzberger

Director (Membership)     Tricia Wallace-Smith

Director (Webmaster)       Dwight Campbell

Since the AGM, our newly elected Rear Commodore Heinz Seeberg, has formed a Sailing Committee comprised of Greg Gilliam, Harry Smith, Ian Brownhill, Trevor Gourlay and himself.

As the newly elected Commodore of your club I would like to take this opportunity to thank those members that have placed their trust in me and allowing me to guide the club through the next year. I am thankful of having a good blend of experience and enthusiasm joining me on the Management Committee and hope that the Sunshine Coast Yacht Club can continue to prosper.
I welcome our new sailing committee members and thank them for volunteering their time. This is an extremely experienced committee and I'm sure we can look forward to plenty of robust discussion over courses and the like. I believe I speak for the majority of club members in thanking our lone outgoing sailing committee member, Craig Ferguson, for taking on the challenge last year and for being successful in combining our club races with those held by MYC.
I believe that the outgoing Management Committee has done an exceptional job and fully support the applause they received from the members present at the AGM. Without people like Ian Brownhill, Sheryl Hinds, Craig Ferguson, Tricia Wallace-Smith and Ross Gibson on the outgoing committee, we would not have the wonderful club that we have today.


Harry Blom

SCYC Commodore

Sunshine Coast Yacht Club